Skip to content ↓

News & Events

National School Award Nominations

The Stamford Endowed Schools are proud to have received a number of nominations in the Independent School Awards 2010. Our short-listings are in the categories of Best Independent/Maintained School Collaboration, for our work as part of the Stamford Educational Alliance, and Lifetime Achievement for staff members Libby Craig and Richard Haynes. The award presentation will take place on November 11 at the Oxford Belfry.

Richard Haynes, Senior Master (retired)The Best Independent/Maintained School Collaboration recognises an initiative that involves working with state schools, which led to the short-listing of the Stamford Endowed Schools for our partnership with Stamford New College and Queen Eleanor School under the Stamford Educational Alliance. The Alliance promotes choice and support for the children of Stamford and co-operation between the three largest educational institutions in Stamford.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to a school leader who has shown a commitment to and achievement in the independent schools sector over many years. We have received two nominations in this category. Richard Haynes, who retired this year, taught at Stamford School for 36 years, joining in 1974. Over this time he has contributed greatly to the School and rose to the position of Senior Master. Libby Craig has been the Head of Stamford Junior School since 1997 and joined the Schools in 1978. Libby has overseen a great deal of change during her time at the School and is regarded fondly by parents and pupils alike.

ISS NominatedMr Stephen Roberts, Principal of the Stamford Endowed Schools, said “It is a great achievement for the Schools and its staff that we should receive these three nominations. I am pleased that the Schools’ contribution to the Stamford Educational Alliance has been recognised and am sure that its valuable work will continue. The Lifetime Achievement nominations for Miss Craig and Mr Haynes are a fitting celebration of the hard work and dedication they have shown to the Endowed Schools throughout their careers and I wish them both the best of luck on the night of the awards.”